Uncategorized

There’s No Place Like Home

It’s true people.

Theres something so satisfying about hopping into your bed at home; whether it’s after a long day of work, school, after a vacation, or in my case, after sleeping in a twin xl bed that can only get so comfy. As most of you know, growing up I was often the child that left a sleepover early because I struggled with homesickness. So to me, my home is a very special place to me. Before heading to college I told myself that coming home every weekend was not an option(especially because of weekend marching band performances). I knew that if I didn’t allow myself to settle in here, I would never get the full college experience and develop my independence. So, when coming home after a couple long weeks, there are many things that I realized I took for granted before I went away. Things as simple as home cooked meals, free laundry, a room to myself, familiar people all around me, my cozy bed, to things like snuggling with my parents, going to concerts, spending time with my best friends, and being with Will. Just looking at this list though makes me realize how truly blessed I am to have a home that is so near and dear to me and to have such amazing family and friends that when I do go home, we can just pick up from where we left off. College is truly such an amazing experience and I know I am already developing lifelong friendships and a place to call my second home, but never will I ever forget to spend some of my weekends at my real home, snuggled up with my family and friends.

 

Thank you to everyone back at home who have sent me texts, letters, Facebook messages, etc., encouraging me and letting me know you are praying for me. It honestly has meant so much to me and I am so thankful for all your love and support while I am doing what I love and pursuing my passions at my favorite college ever.

Much love,

Madeline

Leave a Reply

