Uncategorized

This One Is For You, Meama.

Well first off, Happy Birthday!

Today you would be turning 74 and boy do I wish we were getting ready to celebrate with you here on Earth. None the less, today is a day to reflect on the amazing woman you were while you were here, and I have chosen to live out today the way you probably would’ve: full of love and reading. I miss you every day, Meama.

Secondly, this is what really inspired this blog post.

It’s hard for me to even comprehend that I have to be writing this in a blog instead of calling her or even walking over to the house to say “hello” since I’m finally close enough to do so. As most people know, the holiday’s can be very hard for those who have lost loved ones. As we begin to transition into two of the greatest holiday’s all about thankfulness and happy time’s spent with family, I can’t help but get a little teary eyed when I think about not having my wonderful Meama around to celebrate it with us. There are so many traditions that were passed on to me through my Meama who either shared it specifically with me or through my Mom, that I will cherish forever. One of my favorite traditions will always be listening to “9 Lessons and Carols”. I have to be honest, when I was younger having to listen to choral Christmas music instead of my Cheetah Girls Christmas CD was pretty tragic, but as I began to grow older I understood why it was so special to my Mom. A few years ago my Mom found out about a rendition of the program that was done at a church in Grosse Pointe; thus making a new tradition for our family ever since. Since losing my Meama, going back and hearing songs such as “Once in Royal David’s City” and “In the Bleak Midwinter” gets harder and harder knowing that I will never be sitting next to her listening to them, but at the same time I smile thinking of all the great memories I got to share with her during the holiday’s.

So Meama, this one is for you. For all the cherished times I got to spend with you and for all the holiday’s that you helped make so special. I can’t wait to hang all my ornaments on the tree and smile at them because you always seemed to pick out the funniest little ornaments for all your grandkids. I can’t wait to hopefully carry on these traditions with my kids, telling them all about you and your love for everyone, especially your family.

Much love,

Madeline

12342420_10156293833065293_7897363278294262150_n

