Leadership Education

PSY100

Unfortunately with my marching band schedule, I was unable to join the rest of my cohort in the leadership psychology class, but I am still grateful for what I learned in just a regular psych class. One concept that I related a lot to how I function as a leader was when we learned about social psychology. Social psychology is “the scientific stud of how we think about, influence, and relate to one another”. One of a leaders jobs is to influence other people’s lives for the better. Usually social psychology focuses on groups but I think it is important to look at the power of individuals because they have the power to start a chain reaction and change the world. As a leader, if you are committed enough to changing the world, you have the power to sway the majority and make history. Although you may think this would never happen, let’s take a look at an example of this. Rosa Parks did nothing more than refuse to sit in the back of the bus. She probably didn’t know that her doing this would lead to the Civil Rights Movement, but, without her bravery to fight for what she believes in, there would be no Civil Rights movement. Another example of this is Gandhi. Gandhi was a Hindu nationalist and spiritual leader who used nonviolent appeals and fasts to help win India’s independence. Gandhi believed that a consistent and persistent minority voice can sway the majority and he proved that to be true.

As I continue on my leadership journey, I will continue to keep this in my mind when I begin to doubt that my voice will really matter in a world of over 7 billion people, because one person has the power to change the world and I want to be one of those people.

Leave a Reply

