Leadership Education

Find your WHY

I’m going to be honest, I am most definitely not one that loves reading or even really likes it, but, when we were assigned a book project in my Leadership class I was excited! I knew the book would be good because it would fill me with inspiration and knowledge from a very wise leader and that’s exactly what happened.

My group was assigned the book Start With Why by Simon Sinek. For those of you who don’t know, this book was inspired from his Ted Talk about the golden circle which you can watch here! In this book, Sinek talked a lot on why some business are so much more successful than others. Do you want to know why? Well, it’s because they begin their business with their why in mind. They don’t just think about what they want to do, or how they want to do it, they dig deep and figure out why they do what they do. One great quote from this book is, “The Golden Circle provides compelling evidence of how much more we can achieve if we remind ourselves to start everything we do by first asking why”(Sinek 38).

goldencircle
The Golden Circle

large_gc_slides_v1-4

 

The Why of the golden circle is what motivates business to become so successful. Every phone company has the same product so there’s nothing special about that. But, not every business has a why and when they do, they become that much more successful and realize why they do what they do.

So as part of the project, my group had to come up with our own project on how we are going to show others what our book taught us. As part of our project we went out during Thanksgiving break and asked people:

  1. Who inspires you/ Who is your role model?
  2. Why do they inspire you/ What characteristics do they have that make them your role model?

If you would like to watch this video, click here!

We noticed that most of the people were inspired by someone who impacted their why or their passions. Therefore we concluded that many people do the things they do because someone has influenced them to do those things. This then made me feel inspired to find my WHY statement; why I do what I do.

My WHY statement: constantly living for God through my passions and everyday actions so that people may see him through me.

Leave a Reply

