Leadership Education

“But why?”

For those of you who read my blog post about Simon Sinek’s Ted Talk called “Start With Why”, this post will be a follow-up to an even deeper discussion that my LAS cohort discussed about it in class. For those of you who have never heard of or seen the ted talk, I would recommend you read my blog post about it here!

Last week, my leadership class was assigned an assignment to watch the ted talk before coming to class. In class we discussed why we thought “why” was so important. Why is that everyone follows why you do something and not what you do? To us as leaders, we found this topic very important because we want to appeal to people through our passions and actions and not just because we may be called a leader. We began looking at different businesses “why” statements and even different leaders’ around the world.

We were then asked to buddy up with a classmate and describe to them our passions, our role models, things that make us mad, sad, happy, etc., thus helping one another form our why statements; why we do what we do.

If you had the chance to read my blog post about “Start With Why” you would’ve seen that I originally created my own why statement. However, after my class I wanted to write a better one. I later met with other classmates asking them for their opinions and seeing how they view me as a person and a leader, thus giving me my new why statement:

“Inspire others to love fearlessly and serve endlessly”

I am a firm believer in the power of love and sometimes I feel that I let the power of love keep me from really giving my all to something. I want everyone to find something that they love to do and do it without any fear. I also feel that as a Christian, one of my duties is to serve others until the day I die. I also just love serving others any way possible and it is something I want to do forever.

Leave a Reply

